Pulp Fiction Book Store banner
May 4, 2022

May Means Murder

We love when May comes around, Spring has truly sprung, the trees have their leaves, the flowers have started to bloom, and crime starts to rise. We love murder mysteries and crime fiction. Yeah, we're suckers for a good tale of mayhem and death. And so we usually dedicate the month of May to, what else... murder.
Along those lines, we really enjoyed the last book we finished in April, I'm a Dead Man - Four Stories by W.T. Ballard. We enjoyed it so much that we put it on sale this month. We don't usually do that with new books but here we are.... And by the way that title wins our award for pulpiest title we've published so far...
So what's on SALE this month?

On Sale This Month.

I'm a Dead Man - Four Stories by W.T. Ballard
I’m a Dead Man – Four novelettes of murders committed to cover up fraud and to exact revenge. But as smart as the murderers think they are, they always make a mistake.

I’m a Dead Man (1946) – Now that he was dead, Gately was sure he could find his murderer! An eight chapter novelette.

Slay Ride (1947) – He had promised a certain, sweet one that he would do his best to clear her brother’s name but the job turned out to be more than a little bitter—because DeLane found himself in the middle of a killing combine’s activities that labeled him the next victim!
Chapter II Gumming Up the Works
Chapter III Tough Baby
Chapter IV Hunting Trouble
Chapter V A Lot of Nerve
Chapter VI Hidden Airport
Chapter VII Licked

Death on the Ways (1943) – Those who own guilt-edged stock can expect to be paid dividends in blood. A four chapter novelette.

The Second Act is MURDER (1946) – When hideous death stalks, playwright Mark De Cloudt stakes his life in a grim gamble as he strives to snare a killer!
Chapter I Theater Project
Chapter II Death in the Garage
Chapter III Killer at Bay
Chapter IV Corpse on a Rope
Chapter V Evil Unmasked
Sleep With The Devil by Day Keene
THE beautiful red-haired girl told Ferron he was a heel straight down the line.
But she’d do anything for him—anything at all.
Wayne would find out, too, that Ferron was part hoodlum, part gigolo, a guy who’d break your arm as quick as he’d look at you.
Yet Wayne wanted to give him a quarter of a million bucks.
And the police knew that Ferron was the most wanted man in the state.
But they did nothing about it. They didn’t even look for him.
It was a swell setup, Ferron thought.
They’d never get him because he was too smart.
He began to wonder . . . and then suddenly his whole world began to shatter with unspeakable savagery.

Sleep With The Devil is a sixteen chapter novel first published in 1954.
The Continental Op - 1924 by Dashiell Hammett
The nine Continental Op stories written by Dashiell Hammett in 1924.
The Tenth Clew – There were enough clews in this crime to give Mr. Hammett’s nameless detective a year or so of work. But solving a mystery in that length of time didn’t appeal to him. He wanted faster action—and he got it in good measure. So will you if you begin this entertaining novelette.
I “Do you know. . . Emil Bonfils?”
II “That’s Something!”
III “A sleek kitten that dame!”
IV “Maybe that ain’t so foolish!”
V “Meet Mr. Smith”
VI “Those damned horns!”
VII “You have a lot of fun, don’t you?”
VIII “I hope you swing!”

Night Shots

Zigzags of Treachery -A twelve chapter novella.
One Hour – A three chapter novelette

The House In Turk Street – We wouldn’t consider an issue complete without one of Mr. Hammett’s stories in it, and after you’ve read this tale, you’ll understand why.

The Girl With The Silver Eyes – Mr. Hammett has written some lively and unusual tales about his realistic detective from the Continental Detective Agency, whose name has never been disclosed; but for action, shrewd detective-work, sheer interest, and surprise, his latest, herewith, surpasses them all.”
A nineteen chapter novella.

Death On Pine Street

The Golden Horseshoe – In our recent voting contest for favorite Black Mask authors, Dashiell Hammett received thousands of votes because of his series of stories of the adventures of his San Francisco detective. He has created one of the most convincing and realistic characters in all detective fiction. The story, herewith, is one of his best to date. We know you’ll enjoy it to the last word.”
A nine chapter novelette.

Who Killed Bob Teal? – Operative Teal went out to shadow a thief, who didn’t even know he was suspected. Seven hours after Teal left his agency’s office, he was found—shot to death. Whose hand cut him down?”
The Early Fu-Manchu by Sax Rohmer
Dr. Fu-Manchu was an evil genius and a connoisseur of exotic murder. He disdained the use of guns and knives, favoring exotic poisons, insects, fungi and the use of dacoits, thuggees, and other members of secret societies to effect his will.

The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu began as a serial of connected stories in the British paper The Story Teller in October, 1912. In 1913, the serial stories were collected and published in Great Britain as a book entitled The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu. Also in 1913, the Fu-Manchu stories began to be serialized in the United States in Collier’s. Later in 1913, Rohmer slightly rewrote the stories to remove the serialization and turn them into chapters for The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu, which was published in the U.S.

After the success of this first Fu-Manchu book, Rohmer followed with The Return of Dr. Fu-Manchu in 1916 and The Hand of Fu-Manchu in 1917.It would be another fourteen years before Rohmer would again write another story of Fu-Manchu.

This collection features all three of the Early Fu-Manchu novels.
At Captain Michel's Table by Gaston Leroux
Every evening, five old skippers smelling of the sea would gather At Captain Michel’s Table at the old Ship-and-Anchor Cafe in Toulon to enjoy their aperative and to tell each other macabre stories of blood and horror.

The Inn of Terror (1929) – A tale of stark realism and gripping horror. A novelette of five chapters.

The Woman with the Velvet Collar (1929) – A vivid story of a weird Corsican vendetta and a ghastly revenge

The Mystery of the Four Husbands (1929) – A vivid weird mystery story of a gloriously beautiful woman and her four murdered husbands

The Crime on Christmas Night (1930) – A tale of stark horror. A novelette of three chapters.

By the author of the novel The Phantom of the Opera
An Orange For The Killer by J. Lane Linklater
An Orange For The Killer – Three Novelettes by J. Lane Linklater. From the California orange groves, to the melon fields around Mexicali, to the quiet neighborhoods off the main drags of Hollywood, there’s plenty of murder to go around.

An Orange For The Killer (1948) – The looting of the Jepson fruit groves was but the prelude to brutal murder—and Harry Masson needed all his vitamins when he confronted the guilty man!
Chapter I Death Threat
Chapter II Murder In The Grove
Chapter III Man At The Depot”
Chapter IV Closing Net
Chapter V Crafty Killer

Death At Both Ends (1947) – Lefty is alone when he undertakes combing Hollywood for the stolen Langman gems, but he soon has two corpses for company!
Chapter I Body On The Ground
Chapter II A Cut Throat
Chapter III On The Prowl
Chapter IV The $500 Clue
Chapter V Just Pals

Mystery of the Mexicali Murders (1941) – Alan Rake, free-lance investigator, flew down to Mexicali on a mystery mission. But before Rake could line up his job, his client went out by the bullet route. And Rake’s only clue was a black bandanna—a bandanna that enshrouded the key to Rake’s own coffin.
Chapter I Five-Grand Fadeaway
Chapter II Satan’s Doorstep
Chapter III Desert Hideout
Chapter IV The Dust Clue
Chapter V Lady Double-Cross
Come see us at The Pulp Fiction Book Store and check out some of what we mean when we say May Means Murder!
facebook instagram 
Email Marketing Powered by MailPoet