Early Cthulhu Stories by H.P. Lovecraft

Howard Phillips Lovecraft (1890-1937) is probably the most influential horror writer of all time. The shared fictional universe, the Cthulhu Mythos, was named for Lovecraft’s novelette, The Call of Cthulhu  which was written in 1926 and first published in Weird Tales in 1928.

The stories deal with a race of “Elder Beings” who once ruled the universe but are now imprisoned or sleeping in some remote part of the Earth or elsewhere in the universe. They only await the time “when the stars are right” to return and resume their rule. Monsters and evil humans live and act to hasten this return.

In the first two stories in this volume, Dagon (1919) and The White Ship (1919) some of the concepts and themes of the Cthulhu Mythos begin to take form. The latter five stories beginning with The Doom That Came to Sarnath (1920), are considered by Weinberg and Berglund of The Readers Guide to the Cthulhu Mythos to be integral to the Mythos.

Dagon (1919)
The White Ship (1919)
The Doom that Came to Sarnath (1920)
The Nameless City (1921)
The Hound (1924)
The Festival (1925)
The Call of Cthulhu (1928)
I. The Horror In Clay
II. The Tale of Inspector Legrasse
III. The Madness From the Sea

Available for epub and mobi

  1. cthulhuStories.epub
  2. cthulhuStories.mobi

Also available on Amazon

More Fantasy & Horror